Years 10-11

Religious Studies

Religious Studies is a subject which helps to train the mind and acquire knowledge.  It helps students to understand information and then to evaluate it.  Students are required to develop their own thoughts and ideas and learn from religion as well as about religion.  They must be able to explain why they hold certain views and perhaps more importantly, why other people hold different views.  These are very important skills for life where ability to understand other people with different viewpoints will be a great asset.  In particular anyone considering careers in teaching, nursing, social services or police would find these skills very helpful.

The qualification is suitable for all colleges and universities which recognise the sound training it gives.  It lays a good foundation for further study of Religious Studies and complements other A-Level subjects such as Law, Politics, Philosophy, Sociology, English Literature and History.  Two Options, each with grades A*-G, are available.

Option 1: GCSE Religious Studies – AQA Specification A: Philosophy of Religion and Christian Ethics

Students will be able to continue to build upon their exploration of religious beliefs and practices, evaluating values and make informed insights into fundamental questions about identify, purpose, truth, values and commitments.

Unit 7 – Philosophy of Religion

  • Arguments for the existence of God
  • Characteristics of God
  • Revelation and Enlightenment
  • The problem of Evil
  • The compatibility of science and religion
  • The afterlife

Unit 2 – Christian Ethics

  • The right to life – abortion, euthanasia
  • The use of medical technology – fertility treatments, gene therapy and genetic engineering, cloning
  • Personal responsibility – sexual relationships, drugs
  • Social responsibility – marriage, divorce, prejudice and discrimination
  • Global Concerns – the environment, wealth and poverty
  • Conflict – war and peace, crime and punishment

Option 2: GCSE Religious Studies – AQA Specification A: Islam and Islam Ethics

Unit 8 - Religious Beliefs and Lifestyle

  • Beliefs and sources of authority – Tawhid, Risalah, Akhirah, Life of Muhammad, Qur’an
  • The Five Pillars
  • Worship – features of a mosque, role of imam and muezzin
  • Personal lifestyle – food, dress
  • Family life – marriage and divorce
  • Justice and Equality – prejudice and discrimination

Unit 9 – Ethics

  • Life and death – Sanctity of life, abortion, euthanasia, fertility treatment, gene therapy, genetic engineering
  • Wealth and poverty – causes, charities
  • Conflict and suffering – jihad, war, pacifism
  • Environment – conservation, pollution, animal rights
  • Crime and punishment – causes of crime, aims of punishment, capital punishment
  • Relationships and lifestyles – importance of the family, attitudes to alcohol, gambling and drugs.